The three levels of autism – making sense of your child’s diagnosis


The different levels of autism Autism was previously broken down into several different diagnosis such as Asperger’s, PDD-NOS, and Rhett’s Syndrome.  Since the release of the DSM-5 in May 2013 (for diagnosis purposes), autism has become defined as a “single spectrum disorder” in which levels were defined.     What is the DSM-5? The DSM-5 (published in Read more…

Sammy’s story …


One of the joys of the work we do at Bridges for Learning is seeing how our work can transform the lives of our clients. Following is a a beautiful letter from Jennifer, whose son Sammy is a client of Bridges for Learning and a recipient of NDIS. It’s such a lovely story, we wanted to Read more…

What’s happening with my child’s NDIS plan?


    When will my child’s plan be written? We understand how the changes associated with the NDIS can be a confusing time, so our aim is to keep you as up to date as possible. As you can imagine the large number of people transitioning to the NDIS means that it may take some time for the NDIA Read more…

Speech Development – Breaking down the terminology


What is normal speech development? Children begin to use certain speech sounds at particular ages. The sounds are sometimes grouped as the “early, middle, and late 8 sounds”. Early 8: By age 3 your child should be able to say the sounds m, b, y, w, n, d, p, h. Middle 8: By age 5 Read more…

March newsletter


    Welcome 2017 is going to be an exciting year for Bridges. We are beginning to see our first clients that have their NDIS plans and are looking forward to being part of the positive changes that will result from this. We have commenced our role as Early Childhood Early Intervention transition partners for children 0-6  with the Read more…

1 2

What our clients are saying about us

Newsletter Signup

* = required field